Opportunity to Play CGC

Spots are still available for Colorado Golf Hall of Fame tournament June 1 at Colorado Golf Club 

By Gary Baines – 4/18/2021

There are still spots remaining for the Colorado Golf Hall of Fame tournament, a fundraising event for the HOF that will be held June 1 at Colorado Golf Club in Parker.

Over the last 11 years, CGC has hosted several national and international tournaments, most notably the 2010 Senior PGA Championship, the 2013 Solheim Cup and the 2019 U.S. Mid-Amateur. This year, both the CGA Match Play and Women’s Match Play champions will be crowned at the course that was designed by Bill Coore and World Golf Hall of Famer Ben Crenshaw.

For those interested in playing in the CGHOF tournament on June 1, the cost is $375 per person or $1,500 for a foursome. Spots can be reserved by CLICKING HERE. Information on sponsorship of the event at various levels — and additional details — can also be found on that website.

This year, Colorado Golf Club also will host the 48th induction awards dinner for the Golf Hall of Fame, set for Aug. 29. Both Russ Miller, longtime PGA director of golf at The Broadmoor in Colorado Springs, and Ed Oldham, the PGA director of instruction at The Ranch Country Club in Westminster, will be inducted on that date.

Also being honored on that date will be Colin Prater of Cherokee Ridge Golf Course (2020 Golf Person of the Year), Mary Weinstein of Highlands Ranch (2019 Golf Person of the Year), longtime “In the Fairway” radio host Jerry Walters (Distinguished Service), Eleanore Pellegrini (Lifetime Achievement), and Charlotte Hillary of Cherry Hills Village and Micah Stangebye of Montrose (Future Famers). For more information on Oldham and Prater, who were voted their honors last fall, CLICK HERE. For background on the other honorees, CLICK HERE.

For additional information about either event, including sponsorship opportunities, email CGHOF executive director Jon Rizzi at To visit the new Colorado Golf Hall of Fame website, CLICK HERE.

The Colorado Golf Hall of Fame inducted its first class in 1973, with the honorees that year being Babe Zaharias, Dave Hill and Babe Lind.