Teaming Up

9 teams that have won CGA Women’s Club Team title looking for more at Pinehurst CC

By Gary Baines – 10/1/2021

A Colorado Sports Hall of Famer, a winner of a CGA women’s major championship, and a 2021 USGA championship qualifier are among the entrants for the 18th CGA Women’s Club Team Championship, which will be held Monday at Pinehurst Country Club in south Denver.

In all, a full field of 30 four-person teams is entered in the tournament, which features an ABCD stroke-play format in which the scores of four players of significantly varying abilities — and Handicap Indexes — are added up for a gross aggregate team total.

Nine of the clubs in the field have won the title before, including South Suburban Golf Course, which has prevailed twice (2014 and ’15). 

Foothills Golf Course will defend its 2020 title, though none of the team members are the same as last year. Other past team champs in the field are  Eisenhower Golf Club (2019), Colorado Golf Club (2017), Patty Jewett Golf Course (2016), Blackstone/Black Bear (2013), Saddle Rock Golf Course (2011), Glenmoor Country Club (2010) and Meadows Golf Club (2009).

Tanya Haave, a 2004 Colorado Sports Hall of Fame inductee and current Metropolitan State University of Denver women’s basketball head coach, will be Broken Tee’s A player.

Laurie Steenrod, winner of the 1995 CGA Women’s Match Play and the 2011 CGA Women’s Senior Match Play, will lead the way for Saddle Rock. Louise Lyle, who qualified for the 2021 U.S. Senior Women’s Amateur, will represent Patty Jewett. Deb Pearson, who has competed in past U.S. Senior Women’s Ams, is on the Colorado Springs Country Club squad.

For Monday’s pairings, CLICK HERE.