Prestigious Victory

CSU’s Ott wins playoff to capture title in 113th Southern Amateur

By Gary Baines – 07/20/2019

Last month, AJ Ott came close to taking home the title in the Southwestern Amateur, tying for second place in an 83-man field.

On Saturday, in contention at another significant amateur championship, the Fort Collins golfer finished second to no one.

The Colorado State University golfer, who recently qualified in Colorado for his third consecutive U.S. Amateur, rallied in a big way in the final two rounds and won the 113th Southern Amateur in Little Rock, Ark.

After going 70-73-64-67 for a 10-under-par 274 total, Ott went to a playoff that lasted two holes against University of Washington golfer Noah Woolsey of Plesanton, Calif. Ott, the 2018 CGA Match Play champion and Player of the Year, drained a 12-foot birdie putt on that second extra hole to claim the title.

Over the final 36 holes of regulation, Ott carded 14 birdies.

(Ott is pictured in a Southern Golf Association photo.)

The Southern Amateur included a field of 159 players from 28 states and 13 nations. Among those who have won the Southern Am over the years are major championship winners Bobby Jones (1917, 1920 and 1922), Hubert Green (1966 and ’69), Lanny Wadkins (1968 and ’70), Ben Crenshaw (1971 and ’73), current Aspen resident Justin Leonard (1992 and ’93), Bob Tway (1980), Webb Simpson (2005 and ’07) and Mark Brooks (1981).

For all the scores from the 2019 Southern Amateur, CLICK HERE.