On Repeat!

The CGA Women’s Mashie Championship concluded at Highland Meadows Golf Course in Windsor. The Four-Ball Match Play format, an event where partners play their best ball against the better ball of the other team, did not disappoint.

The defending champions, Janet Moore (Cherry Hills CC) and Susie Roh (Lakewood CC) set their sights on a repeat performance.  In the final match, Moore and Roh took on the Ranch Country Club’s Lisa Arndt and Kathleen Johnson. Through the first seven holes, Arndt and Johnson had the upper hand and went three up through 7; however, Moore/Roh wouldn’t let them get away that easy and came back on holes 8 and 9.

Going into the back nine the defending champions were one down.  After hole 12, the match was tied which didn’t last long as Arndt/Johnson went one up on hole 13. But in true match-play fashion, Roh birdied hole 15 to tie the match. On hole 16, Roh followed up with the only par of the group to take her and Moore to one up. On hole 18, team Moore/Roh birdied taking them to 2 up making them the 2023 CGA Women’s Mashie Champions for the second straight year!

This victory makes it the 11th Mashie title for Janet Moore and the third Mashie title for Susie Roh. As a team, it is their third title together. 

Championship Flight

Championship final – Janet Moore/Susie Roh def. Lisa Arndt/Kathleen Johnson 2 up.

Consolation final – Jennifer Cassell/Haejeong Son def. Patty Smogor/Devra Ochs 7 and 5.

First Flight

Championship final –  Miok Billinger/Alison O’Connor def. Odette Kleidon/Jane Ford 5 and 4.

Consolation final – Laura Wetzel/Karen Leuschel def. Kim Wells/Karen Chase 19 holes.

Second Flight

Championship final – Morgan Wallace/Kyra Sneddon def. Trish Swanson/Leanna Rosenow 1 up.

Consolation final – Laura Dunston/Cathy Neistat def. Paige Rodriguez/Michelle Irving 1 up.

Third Flight

Championship final – Lori Gude/Paulette Jerpe def. Audrey Bopp/Jan Milne 3 and 2.

Consolation final – Mabel Gong/Anne Cadden def. Linda Lambert/Kandi Fitzgerald 4 and 2.

Fourth Flight

Championship flight – Annie Fox/Karen Deierhoi def. Claudia Gallegos/Jan Campbell 4 and 2.

Consolation final – Mandy Johnson/Jennifer Ertler def. Heidi Cies/Dee Dee McGennis-Hoemann 2 and 1.

Fifth Flight

Championship final – Lynda Clydesdale/Carol Clydesdale def. Darlene Evans/Beckie Harkey 2 and 1.

Consolation final – Linda Loveland/Cindy Ortega def. Nanette Neelan/Jenny Elliott 6 and 5.

Sixth Flight

Championship final – Rochelle Tisdale/Claudia Svarstad def. Sandy Altenborg Holli Doyle 1 up.

Consolation final – Janice Messer/Debbie Owens def. Janis Hoskinson/Cynthia Elsener 5 and 4.

Seventh Flight

Championship final – JoAnn Smith/Barbara Harrison def. Laura Fischer/Cher Tuffy 3 and 1.

Consolation final – Lucille Moreno-Peacock/Jeanette Paone def. Gail Inderwish/Deb Alderson-Poole 3 and 2.

Eighth Flight

Championship final – Linda Chameroy/Karen Schmeiser def. Victoria Ponce/Janice Carrington 4 and 2.

Consolation final – Paulette Dalpes/Annie Groves def. Leticia Overholt/Kim Buck 6 and 5.

Ninth Flight

Championship final – Sue Hahn/Rose Rismanchi def. Laura Laux/Jan Squires 4 and 2.

Consolation final – Dee Martinez/Brenda Chergo def. Sally Carsten/Debora Kolb in 19 holes.

To view full leaderboard, click HERE.

To view pictures from the event, click HERE.