No One Better … So Far

Denver’s Calli Ringsby and former Stanford teammate Shannon Aubert share stroke-play medalist honors at U.S. Women’s Amateur Four-Ball; Coloradan Hadley Ashton and teammate Brynn Kort also advance to match play, as do pair of CU golfers

By Gary Baines – 5/14/2023

A year ago, Calli Ringsby of Denver and teammate Shannon Aubert missed advancing to match play by a single stroke at the U.S. Women’s Amateur Four-Ball Championship. Same for Hadley Ashton of Erie and partner Brynn Kort.

On Sunday, Ringsby and Aubert, who are former Stanford teammates, left nothing to chance on trip No. 2 to the women’s national four-ball. They went bogey-free best-ball for the two rounds of stroke play in DuPont, Wash.,  and tied for medalist honors out of 64 teams at The Home Course. They went 66-67 for an 11-under-par total, sharing the best stroke-play score with six other teams.

Meanwhile, Ashton, the 2022 girls 4A state high school individual champion and Kort will join Ringsby and Aubert in making match play, which begins on Monday. Ashton and Kort carded a bogey-free 3-under-par 69 on Sunday to post a 4-under total, leaving them in a tie for 24th place.

As for the third “local” team, University of Colorado golfers Morgan Miller and Malak Bouraeda played off for the final match play spots after going 70-71 to tie for 28th place at 3 under par. The two birdied the second extra hole Sunday evening to advance in an 8-for-5 playoff. Miller made the round of 32 at last year’s Women’s Four-Ball with Coloradan Kaylee Chen. 

The match play round of 32 will be held on Monday, with both the round of 16 and the quarterfinals on Tuesday, and the semifinal and championship matches set for Wednesday.

For all the stroke-play scores from the U.S. Women’s Amateur Four-Ball, CLICK HERE.

About the Writer: Gary Baines has covered golf in Colorado continuously since 1983. He was a sports writer at the Daily Camera newspaper in Boulder, then the sports editor there, and has written regularly for since 2009. He was inducted into the Colorado Golf Hall of Fame in 2022. He owns and operates