weekly insider trivia

April 5, 2021

COLORADO GOLF TRIVIA: What member of the Colorado Sports Hall of Fame finished two shots behind the winner at the Masters after incurring a two-stroke penalty during the tournament? 

Answer for CGA News Weekly Insider Trivia Question from April 5: In 1960, Dow Finsterwald finished third at the Masters, two strokes behind winner — and good friend — Arnold Palmer. Coincidentally, two strokes is what Finsterwald was penalized — retroactively — for taking a practice putt on the fifth green during the first round, “not realizing he had violated rules” according to a newspaper account at the time.