Local Conference Tourney Roundup

DU women, Weinstein (closing-round 65) sweep Summit League titles; Colorado School of Mines men, CSU-Pueblo women claim RMAC championships

By Gary Baines – 04/23/2019

The University of Denver women’s golf team is back in the groove.

Regarding winning conference championships, that is.

And junior Mary Weinstein of Highlands Ranch continues to set the standard individually for DU.    

After seeing their remarkable conference tournament win streak end last year at 14, the Pioneers carded a 7-under-par 281 round on Tuesday and cruised to a 27-stroke victory in the Women’s Summit League tournament in Newton, Kan. (The champions are pictured above in a Summit League photo.)

During its streak of 15 conference victories in 16 years, DU has now won five times in the Summit League, once in the WAC and nine times in the Sunbelt.

This one, like the other victories, brings with it an automatic berth into the NCAA Division I Regionals. The teams — and where they will play in regionals — will be announced on Wednesday.

And not only did DU earn the team title on Tuesday, but its players went an emphatic 1-2 in the individual standings for the 45-person tournament.

Weinstein, the CGA Women’s Player of the Year in both 2017 and ’18, earned her first individual title as a Division I player (she tied for a victory in 2016 as a freshman at Division II Regis before transferring). With a stellar 7-under-par 65 in the final round, Weinstein pulled away from senior teammate — and defending Summit League champion — Sophie Newlove to win by seven strokes.

“Mary was phenomenal again today,” coach Lindsay Kuhle said in a Summit League video. “… Mary is such a good ballstriker. When she gets her putter going like she did today, she can birdie almost every hole.”

Weinstein made a remarkable nine birdies on Tuesday for the course- and Summit League Championship-record 65, giving her a three-day total of 1-over-par 217 at Sand Creek Station Golf Course north of Wichita. She birdied four straight holes on the front nine in the final round and played her final nine in 5-under 31.

“I just got in the right mindset,” Weinstein said. “I was supporting my teammates and they were supporting me. We’ve all worked extremely hard for this entire season for what we earned today.”

It was Weinstein’s fifth top-10 individual showing in large-field tournaments this season.

Newlove closed with a 71 for a 224 total. Also placing in the top 10 for DU was Alyson Bean, who shared seventh place at 233 after a final-round 72.

Elsewhere in conference tournaments involving Colorado-based teams:

— Mines Men Repeat as RMAC Champion: The Colorado School of Mines men won their second consecutive Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference title — each coming by a mere one stroke — in Division II action. With a 26-under-par 826 total, Mines prevailed in the men’s tournament in Chandler, Ariz., by the slimmest of margins over hard-charging Dixie State, which posted a 16-under 268 total in the final round. Colorado Mesa was third at 846.

Dixie State players went 1-2 in the individual race with Nicklaus Britt winning with a 13-under-par 200 total and Spencer Wallace taking second at 202. Nic Beno of Colorado School of Mines grabbed third at 203.

— CSU-Pueblo Women Cruise to Title: Colorado State-Pueblo claimed an 18-stroke victory in the Women’s RMAC tournament, also at Ocotillo Golf Resort in Chandler. CSU-Pueblo checked in at 31-over-par 895, while Dixie State (913) was second and Colorado Christian (914) third.

Individually, CSU-Pueblo senior Orakorn Thirayatorn earned the top spot, finishing at 1-over-par 217 for a three-stroke victory. Faith Kilgore of Colorado Christian placed second (220), while Ashlyn Kirschner of Colorado Mesa was third (221).


April 21-23, 2019 (final) in Newton, Kan.

1. (out of 9 teams) Denver 322-301-281–904

1. Mary Weinstein 78-74-65–217

2. Sophie Newlove 78-75-71–224

7. Alyson Bean 82-79-72–233

11. Trussy Li 84-79-73–236

24. Camille Enright 95-73-76–244


April 21-23, 2019 (final) in Chandler, Ariz.

Team Standings

1. Colorado School of Mines 277-275-274–826

2. Dixie State 278-281-268–827

3. Colorado Mesa 287-283-276–846

4. Colorado-Colorado Springs 286-279-284–849

5. Westminster College (Utah) 278-292-290–860

6. Colorado Christian 291-286-284–861

7. Regis 295-289-280–864

8. Colorado State-Pueblo 299-295-279–873

9. Fort Lewis 301-292-287–880

10. South Dakota School of Mines 310-299-314–923

Top 5 Individuals

1. Nicklaus Britt, Dixie State 66-68-66–200

2. Spencer Wallace, Dixie State 72-65-65–202

3. Nic Beno, Colorado School of Mines 67-68-68–203

4. George Markham, Colorado School of Mines 67-68-70–205

5. Chase Carlson, Colorado Christian 65-71-71–207


April 21-23, 2019 (final) in Chandler, Ariz.

Team Standings

1. Colorado State-Pueblo 307-289-299–895

2. Dixie State 306-302-305–913

3. Colorado Christian 312-307-295–914

4. Colorado Mesa 31-307-300–920

5. Westminster College (Utah) 315-314-303–932

6. Colorado-Colorado Springs 315-315-305–935

7. Metro State 325-310-314–949

8. Regis 318-326-317–961

9. Fort Lewis 326-336-325–987

9. Chadron State 336-321-330–987

11. Adams State 363-352-344–1059

12. South Dakota School of Mines 370-370-342–1082

13. Black Hills State 391-376-364–1131

Top 5 Individuals

1. Orakorn Thirayatorn, CSU-Pueblo 73-70-74–217

2. Faith Kilgore, Colorado Christian 76-74-70–220

3. Ashlyn Kirschner, Colorado Mesa 77-73-71–221

4. Karen Valcarce, Westminster College (Utah) 77-73-74–224

4. Jolene Kam, CSU-Pueblo 76-75-73–224