Breaking the Ice

Coloradan Tyler Severin notches first college victory

By Gary Baines – 2/23/2020

Tyler Severin’s first top-10 individual finish in a college tournament also turned out to be the Coloradan’s first collegiate victory.

Severin, a resident of Johnstown and a graduate of Roosevelt High School, claimed win No. 1 on Sunday at a tournament hosted by his University of Wyoming team, the Wyoming Desert Intercollegiate in Palm Desert, Calif.

Competing in a 119-player field, Severin closed with a bogey-free 6-under-par 66 at the Classic Club — the low score of the day — to score a two-stroke victory. The 2018 Colorado Junior Match Play runner-up ended up at 9-under 207.

Also posting top-15 finishes on Sunday were the University of Denver’s Jackson Solem and the University of Colorado’s John Paterson (both 11th at 213), and DU’s Carson Griggs (13th at 214).

Team-wise, DU was the top local finisher, placing third out of 21 teams at 3-under-par 861, 19 strokes behind champion Auburn. Colorado State, ranked fifth in the nation by Golfstat, saw its three-tournament team win streak end as the Rams ended up fourth at 864. CU checked in 10th at 874.

Wyoming Desert Intercollegiate

Feb. 21-23, 2020 (final) in Palm Desert, Calif.

3. (out of 21 teams) Denver 289-285-287—861

13. Carson Griggs 70-72-72–214

28. John Sand 69-72-75—216

37. Cal McCoy 75-72-72—219

47. Jun Ho Won 75-77-69–221

47. Connor Jones 78-69-74–221

11. Jackson Solem (competing only as individual) 68-77-68–213

77. Eric Hagen (competing only as individual) 73-79-75—227

82. Esteban Missura (competing only as individual) 76-79-73–228

4. Colorado State 295-286-283—864

21. Jack Ainscough 74-71-70–215

21. Parathakorn Suyasri 73-71-71–215

31. Davis Bryant 74-71-72–217

33. AJ Ott 75-73-70–218

74. Oscar Teiffel 74-76-76–226

68. Akedanai Ponghathaikul (competing only as individual) 74-76-75–225

10. Colorado 289-293-292—874

11. John Paterson 72-68-73—213

37. Ross Macdonald 71-76-72—219

65. Cole Krantz 72-78-74—224

68. Daniel O’Loughlin 74-72-79–225

77. Adam Matteson 77-77-73—227

47. Victor Bjorlow (competing only as individual) 78-71-72–221

77. Kristoffer Max (competing only as individual) 74-77-76–227


1. Coloradan Tyler Severin, Wyoming 70-71-66–207