Going Low

Golden’s Maxwell Lange fires 64 as 30 golfers qualify at Overland Park for Optimist Junior Golf Championship

By Gary Baines – 06/07/2019

Thirty junior golfers, including 28 from Colorado, qualified on Friday for the Optimist Junior Golf Championship that will be held next month at Trump National Doral in Miami.

Maxwell Lange of Golden led the way on Friday at Overland Park Golf Course in Denver by firing a stellar 8-under-par 64 to win the boys 14-15 division by four strokes. He eagled the par-4 first hole and added seven birdies and one bogey.

Earning medalist honors in the other age divisions on Friday were Reese Knox of Peyton (1-under-par 71 in boys 12-13) and Oliver McSpadden of Austin, Texas (6-over 78 in boys 10-11).

For all the qualifiers from Friday, see below.

Friday marked the first of three days of qualifying for the national event. Future dates and sites are June 14 at Flatirons Golf Course in Boudler (boys 16-18) and June 19 at Meadow Hills Golf Course in Aurora (girls 15-18, girls 13-14 and girls 10-12).

The Optimist Junior Golf Championship is held in three phases in Miami:

— July 16-21 for boys 10-11, boys 12-13 and girls 10-12

— July 21-26 for boys 14-15 and girls 13-14

— July 26-31 for boys 16-18 and girls 15-18

Here are the qualifiers from Friday:

Boys 14-15 (11 Advance)

At Par-72 Overland Park GC in Denver

Maxwell Lange, Golden 64

Sean Lam, Taylorsville, Utah 68

Tayleb Schaefer, Sterling 71

Gage Messingham, Arvada 71

Hunter Swanson, Denver 71

Matthew Wilkinson, Centennial 73

Kyle Leydon, Commerce City 73

Charlie Flaxbeard, Greenwood Village 74

Jonathan Trigg, Englewood 75

Trey Kirschner, Arvada 75

Jack Pashel, Englewood 77

Boys 12-13 (7 Advance)

At Par-72 Overland Park GC in Denver

Reese Knox, Peyton 71

Roland Thornton, Aurora 73

Liam Wood, Aurora 74

Austin Barry, Fort Collins 77

Nathan Kim, Castle Pines 78

Landon Houska, Fort Collins 79

Will Balliet, Thornton 79

Boys 10-11 (12 Advance)

At Par-72 Overland Park GC in Denver

Oliver McSpadden, Austin, Texas 78

Gavin Amella, Castle Rock 80

Clint Summers III, Fort Collins 81

Miles Kuhl, Boulder 83

Campbell McFadden, Denver 84

Michael Woodley, Fort Collins 89

Brayden Destefano, Colorado Springs 91

Wyatt Harlow, Fort Collins 91

William Farber, Lakewood 92

James Flaxbeard, Greenwood Village 92

Everett Ruf, Denver 93

Jayson Mitts, Longmont 96