CGA Match Play Championship Day 2 Recap

Cole Nygren, winner of last year’s 121st CGA Match Play Championship defeated Blake Williams 5 and 4 at CommonGround Golf Course to win a second point in his bid to repeat as the CGA Match Play Champion. Similarly, Leigha Devine, winner of the last year’s 105th CGA Women’s Match Play earned her second point with a 5 and 4 win over Grace Dunkleberger. 

Other notable players to win matches on Tuesday included 2021 CGA Player-of-the-Year Chris Thayer who defeated Ryan Brady of Raccoon Creek Golf Course 3 and 2. The 2020 Match Play Champ and 2020 CGA Player-of-the-Year, Colin Prater, defeated Nickolas Lamke of CommonGround 2 and 1. TJ Shehee of Boulder Country Club lost to Westin Pals of Blackstone Country Club who was 2-up on the 17th. Last year’s runner up, Carson Griggs of the University of Denver Golf Club, won 4 and 3 over Bo Wardynski of Blackstone and Black Bear Golf Club.

On the women’s side of the draw, Aubri Braecklein, the 2019 CGA Women’s Stroke Play Champ, won 2 up against Sloan Post of Metro Denver eclub. Sofia Choi bested Anju Ogli 4 and 3 while Hannah Basler and Timbre Shehee each won second points with wins over their respective opponents.

All pod play matches were played at CommonGround Golf Course. After the completion of pod match play Wednesday, the pod winners advanced to single elimination. Quarter-final rounds and semi-finals will be played at The Broadmoor Golf Club’s famous East Course.