
 

 

 

 

Rule 13.2: Flagstick 

 

13.2: Moving (or not moving) the Flagstick – Stroke Made from the Putting Green 

No Penalty* General Penalty 

Ball hits flagstick left in hole before stroke 

➢ Play ball as it lies 

Deliberately remove flagstick from hole or put back 
in hole to affect ball in motion after stroke (even if 
ball does not hit flagstick)   

➢ Cancel and replay stroke if ball hits flagstick 
➢ Play ball as it lies if ball does not hit flagstick 

Ball hits removed flagstick accidentally 

➢ Play ball as it lies 

Ball hits attended flagstick accidentally 

➢ Play ball as it lies 

Deliberately moving flagstick to position in the hole 
to gain advantage, and ball hits flagstick 

➢ Play ball as it lies  

Ball hits person attending flagstick accidentally  

➢ Play ball as it lies 

Deliberately positioning removed flagstick on green 
to deflect ball, and ball hits flagstick 

➢ Cancel and replay stroke  

Deliberately moving flagstick to position in the hole 
to gain advantage, but ball does not hit flagstick  

➢ Play ball as it lies 

Ball deliberately stopped or deflected by person 
attending flagstick  

➢ Cancel and replay stroke 

Deliberately positioning removed flagstick on green 
to deflect ball, but ball does not hit flagstick 

➢ Play ball as it lies 

Deliberately failing to remove attended flagstick to 
deflect ball, and ball hits flagstick 

➢ Cancel and replay stroke 

Deliberately failing to remove attended flagstick to 
deflect ball, but ball does not hit flagstick 

➢ Play ball as it lies 

Deliberately failing to move out of the way of the 
ball when attending, and ball hits person 

➢ Cancel and replay stroke 

Deliberately failing to move out of the way of the 
ball when attending, but ball does not hit person 

➢ Play ball as it lies 

 

 

*Putting Green + Accident = No Penalty  

 


