Article Search:          News / Media Home  

Palm Beach Gardens, Here We Come

Another large group of Coloradans earns spots in Optimist International Junior

by Gary Baines - 6/16/2017

Twenty-seven junior golfers -- all but three from Colorado -- qualified on Friday at Fitzsimons Golf Course in Aurora for the Optimist International Junior Championships.

Friday's tournaments, which featured five age/gender divisions, concluded two days of qualifying for the Optimist, which will be contested in Palm Beach Gardens, Fla.

Among those advancing on Friday was Lauren Lehigh of Loveland, winner of the 4A girls state high school title last month.

The Optimist International will be held July 20-22 (for boys 10-11 and 12-13 and girls 10-12), July 25-27 (for boys 14-15 and girls 13-14), and July 30-Aug. 2 (boys 16-18 and girls 15-18).

Here's the rundown of the qualifiers from Friday, along with the 15 players who advanced Thursday at Flatirons Golf Course in Boulder.


Girls 15-18
Julia Baroth of Denver 72
Lauren Lehigh of Loveland 72
Payton Canon of Englewood 73
Jenna Chun of Englewood 75
Morgan Ryan of Centennial 77
Marie Jordaan of Denver 77
Tabitha Diehl of Highlands Ranch 78

Girls 13-14
Brittlynn Jade O'Dell of Grand Junction 71
Sofia Choi of Littleton 74
Anju Ogi of Arvada 77
Emma Bryant of Aurora 77
Kaylynn Xia of Colorado 77
Katelyn Lehigh of Loveland 81
Eva Pett of Denver 81
Kelsey Heath of Sisseton, S.D. 81

Boys 12-13
Parker Paxton of Riverton, Wyo. 73
Traejan Andrews of Windsor 75
Yusuke Ogi of Arvada 75
Gage Messingham of Arvada 76
Maxwell Lange of Golden 77

Boys 10-11
Kaden Devenport of Windsor 77
Cameron Hackmann of Laurel, Mont. 79
Matai Naqica of Centennial 80
Austin Barry of Fort Collins 86

Girls 10-12
Abigail Aeschleman of Highlands Ranch 79
Bead Boonta of Centennial 84
Timbre Shehee of Mead 84


Boys 16-18
Daniel Pearson of Longmont 69
John McGinley of Casper, Wyo. 69
Marcus Tait of Littleton 70
Noah Vrencur of Boulder 70
Dillon Stewart of Fort Collins 71
TJ Shehee of Mead 71

Boys 14-15
Connor Jones of Westminster 70
Jack Hughes of Aspen 70
Walker Franklin of Broomfield 71
Jaren Calkins of Lander, Wyo. 71
Dawson Hussong of Montrose 72
Ben Zimmerman of Englewood 73
Ryder Heuston of Louisville 75
Brayden Weiss of Superior 76
Hardy Johnston of Thermopolis, Wyo. 76

Article Search:          News / Media Home